Josh Wale admits he shouldn’t have taken Galahad fight; focuses on Terry Broadbent

Posted: July 26, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Josh Wale

FOR Josh Wale, the pain of underperforming on his biggest night as a professional was perhaps worse than the savage cuts which forced his televised fight against Kid Galahad to be stopped.

The 24-year-old showed enormous guts against the highly-touted Sheffield fighter, ploughing forward in their May super-bantamweight clash despite his opponent’s fast hands and punishing angles of attack.

Wale returns to the ring at Barnsley Metrodome on September 21 against Terry Broadbent for the vacant central area bantamweight title, aiming to build up once again to another high-profile contest.

A victory against Broadbent would help to ease his mind following the disappointment of a missed opportunity on one of Channel 5’s televised shows.

“I didn’t box to my potential against Galahad,” admitted Wale, whose record dropped to 14-4-1 following his most recent contest.

“I shouldn’t have left bantamweight but I was impatient at not getting big fights. So I took it but I was not at my best – although Galahad could have hit me all night long and not hurt me. I have been hit a lot harder than I was on that evening.

“I shouldn’t have really taken the fight as I’m not sure I was fully healed after breaking my jaw in my previous fight (against Michael Ramabeletsa, five months earlier).

“Everyone said how tough I was, how I carried on with a broken jaw in three places for rounds against Ramabeletsa.

“But there just aren’t many chances for guys at bantamweight. We’re all sat around waiting for fights, so although I’m not a natural super-bantamweight, I took the Galahad contest. It seems like all of my bigger chances have come at that weight.

“Fighting at super-bantamweight wasn’t me weight and weight divisions are in boxing for a reason. Sometimes it’s just down to body types, you fit a certain weight category.”

Despite the loss, Wale believes Galahad’s style could trouble some of the bigger beasts on the British super-bantamweight scene.

“I cannot knock him (Galahad) for what he has done, because he would give Carl Frampton and Scott Quigg nightmares,” he said.

“When you spar with the Ingle kids they are like nothing else you’ve ever sparred, they have a unique style. It’s not my cup of tea but a lot of people like it.

“I am an old-style guide who just wants to go in and have a fight. I want to find out who the best is, and that’s not be running away.”

The affable Wale will aim to put his career back on the right course against Leeds-based 23-year-old Broadbent (5-1) and then aim to accelerate through the ranks in his favoured division.

“I’m after whoever has the belt, it doesn’t matter what belt it is,” said Wale, who has held the central area super bantamweight crown and British Masters bantamweight championship during his career.

“I can beat any bantamweight in Britain and, because it’s not the biggest division, one win puts you right back in there.

“Really, there’s only myself, Lee Haskins, Stuart Hall and Jamie McDonnell, that’s about it. So I know I can get back to winning those belts.”

Leave a Reply

