Gary Buckland wants European title within 12 months if he beats Foster Jr; discusses offer from Adrian Broner

Posted: July 29, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , ,

GARY Buckland is one win away from exceeding his boxing dreams.

The Cardiff super-featherweight (26-2) faces ex-European champion Stephen Foster Jr (30-3-1) on October 5 in Bolton for the former’s British title.

A dominant victory would push Buckland onto the level which used to be occupied by Foster. The Salford man lost the European title in his first defence to Ermano Fegatilli in 2011.

And although the Belgian lost his championship to Devis Boschiero last Saturday, the target for Buckland remains the same: moving to European and then world level.

That ambition was almost fulfilled when former WBO boss Adrian Broner’s camp made an offer which Buckland says was too low financially to consider seriously.

But he is confident that he will make the world stage soon – and, in the process, outstrip every boxing ambition he had when first entering the paid ranks.

“When I was first training as a professional I looked at the guys with the British titles and said ‘that’s where I want to be’,” said Buckland.

“But now I can believe I can go onto the European level and get there in the next 12 months. I’m in boxing to win titles and I’m British champion already.

“I’m 26 now so if I’m not ready for world title in the next couple of fights, then I never will be. Broner’s people were interested in a fight but the money wasn’t right.

“If they had come up with big money then we would have gone over there and I would have gone to win – I wouldn’t have taken the fight just to make the numbers up.”

Buckland, who eased to an eight-round tune-up points victory against Dutchman Innocent Anyanwu in Newport last weekend, respects Foster’s achievements in the sport but feels his youth could be key in deciding the contest.

“For me to get to European level, I have to get past Foster,” he said.

“I don’t think in the fight against Fegatilli we saw the best of him. It was like there was something wrong because he was getting hit too easily with body shots.

“He is 31 now so I have the edge on youth. And when I’m defending my title, I train three times a day.

“Ever since my defeat to John Murray (an 11th round stoppage in 2011 for the British and European lightweight belts) I have come on. I’ve won Prizefighter, I’ve fought in Mexico, I’ve won the British title and defended it.

“There are some good boys out there, but I can go to the next level.”

Leave a Reply

