Chad Gaynor: I almost quit, but now I’m going 50/50 with Kell Brook

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

Chad Gaynor with Dave Coldwell

A REJUVENATED Chad Gaynor says “50/50” sessions with Kell Brook prove he could be a major force in boxing – months after he almost quit the sport.

Despite building up an unblemished record following a promising amateur career, the welterweight came close to ditching the profession after becoming disillusioned.

Having now joined Dave Coldwell’s promotional stable, the Rotherham fighter – who can stretch his record to 9-0 on a home town show at the Magna Centre on September 28 – insists his career looks promising.

“At one point I basically quit, I just couldn’t be doing with boxing any more,” Gaynor, 21, told LincBoxing.

“I was wasting my time, training for fights. I didn’t see my career going anywhere. I knocked out (journeyman) Johnny Greaves inside a round, which no one else has ever done, and he’s has well over 80 fights. That should have got me noticed but I was going nowhere.

“I signed with Dave, who started talking about titles within 12 months. He guides me in the right direction so hearing about Kieran Farrell (another Coldwell boxer who’s now in Prizefighter) gives you confidence that he’s well connected and can help me.

“I am the type of fighter who doesn’t like facing journeyman, guys who just stand there and try to survive. I’m looking higher than that.”

The 21-year-old, whose amateur achievements include the 2008 National Boys Club Championship and 2009 junior ABA championship, is bullish about his future prospects.

He insists that competitive sparring sessions against Brook, who is one fight away from a tilt at a world welterweight title, prove he can become a major force in the same division.

“Once people see me against good kids they’ll realise that no one will be able to touch me in 12 months,” said Gaynor.

“I spar with Kell Brook all of the time and it’s 50/50 now, so what will I be like in five years’ time?

“Every time I have sparred with Kell I have not been fully fit, really, but the opportunities were just too good to turn down.

“I don’t follow boxing very closely but I am aware of a few possible opponents. Adam Little is out there and he beat me in the amateurs – so that would be a good fight to make.

“I’m so serious about boxing that I’ve walked out of jobs in the past because I wasn’t getting enough time at the gym. Now, I just need to get my name out there.”

Leave a Reply

