Lee Purdy eager to avenge defeat to Denton Vassell with victory in possible re-match

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

LEE Purdy has challenged Denton Vassell to leave the “no-name” opponents behind and grant him a Commonwealth title re-match.

Competing in his first major bout at welterweight, Purdy dropped a 12-round points decision to the Lancashire boxer for the vacant title in April 2010.

Despite rocking Vassell in the seventh round of the contest in Wigan, Purdy could not capitalise and lost a unanimous verdict.

He has since won and lost the British title – thanks to two victories against Craig Watson before a loss to Colin Lynes – before capturing the vacant English title with a knockout of Adnan Amar in Nottingham and, most recently, defending it against Chris Johnson, last month.

But the re-match against Vassell occupies his thoughts, with a bout possibly on the cards after the Colchester boxer competes on the undercard of Darren Barker’s return at the Alexandra Palace on September 8.

“It’s been hard to get a re-match against Denton Vassell. I couldn’t even get one when I was British champion,” the 25-year-old (18-3-1) told LincBoxing.

“I took the first fight on only a few weeks’ notice. I was training for Michael Lomax who is a 6ft southpaw and then suddenly I was fighting a much shorter, orthodox fighter.

“I just don’t think I was mentally right for that fight but I’m in a better place now. I’m ready to put it on the line and I will take him out.

“It’s been more than two years since we fought 0 I was just a boy then. Now, I’ve physically grown into being a man.”

Vassell (19-0) has not fought since defending the Commonwealth title for just the second time with a points victory against Australian-based Cameroonian Samuel Colomban in November.

His son’s bronchial problems have caused Vassell to stay out of the ring since then, but an impatient Purdy is keen to make the fight, and avenge the nagging defeat, quickly.

“Vassell’s team have told us that they want a warm-up because he’s been inactive,” said Purdy.

“As long as they stick to their word, I would like to meet him after my fight on September 8.

“Let’s face it, his management team needed to have got him some better fighters. He has not fought anyone decent whatsoever. You can barely pronounce their names, let along know who they are.

“Even though I’m English and not British champion now, I’m still ranked higher than him (this applies in some, not all, rankings). He’s inactive. If he beats me again that will put him onto the next level, so I don’t know why we can’t put this fight together.”

Should Purdy v Vassell II fail to be made, there are several high risk and high reward options for Purdy, including Frankie Gavin, Matthew Hatton and current British boss Junior Witter – although the final option is one the Colchester man would perhaps disregard for commercial reasons.

“I would like to fight Junior Witter but, the thing is, that would be a very unsaleable fight.,“ he said.

“It would make for a bad fight., to be honest. It doesn’t really matter who Junior fights, his style means that not many people want to see it.

“Whatever happens, the English title is good to get me back on the road but now it’s time to step on again. The September 8 bout is supposed to be for the English title, so I just want to get through that and move up.”

Leave a Reply

