Kieran Farrell expects to challenge Anthony Crolla for Prizefighter crown

Posted: August 7, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , ,

Kieran Farrell, right, with David Coldwell

KIERAN Farrell expects to battle former British champion Anthony Crolla for the Prizefighter lightweight crown.

Heywood’s Farrell can expect very difficult competition in the October 6 shoot-out, with many pundits and fans labelling this version the most competitive yet.

Aside from Farrell and Crolla, Derry Matthews, Gary Sykes, Stephen Jennings, Terry Needham, Nathan Brough and Liam Patrick Walsh complete the very competitive line-up for the 26th edition of the show.

But while the unbeaten 22-year-old may not rank highly on the bookmakers’ list of favourites, he maintains that an unfancied name will claim the overall prize.

“I am on my journey which is going to continue in October. I’ll get three wins under my belt and continue my journey,” said Farrell, who holds the central area title thanks to victory against Joe Elfidh.

“I’ve done it the hard way, through the small hall shows, fighting guys I didn’t want to fight – but when the managers and promoters asked me to, I did.

“I want to be beating Anthony Crolla, Derry Matthews and Gary Sykes, boxers that everyone respects, and I believe it will come down to me and Crolla.

“I reckon we’ll have a really good tear-up for the fans. He tries to fight the way I fight and tried doing it with Derry Matthews – but Matthews exposed him.

“All of the guys in it are good fighters. I don’t want to be in a Prizefighter where I win simply by beating Joe Bloggs, who’s won one and lost three.

“In not too long I will be topping the bill at the MEN Arena and after that I will be world champion.”

Farrell was slated to fight Tommy Coyle for the English title this autumn, but the latter has now switched his focus to a British title eliminator against veteran Carl Johanneson.

Dave Coldwell, Farrell’s promoter, attempted to resurrect the contest against a variety of opponents, but for the 13-0 boxer that failure merely opened up new opportunities.

“Dave tried to get about eight boxers, including Chris Goodwin and Kev Hooper, for that bout,” said Farrell.

“But none of them wanted to know, because they know of my reputation.

“One night it was getting to bed time – about 7.30pm – and I checked on my iPad, to find out that there was a lightweights Prizefighter.

“Four or five names had been announced already and I thought ‘shit, I’ve missed the boat already’.

“I spoke to my trainer, John Breen, and Dave and we went for it. I’ve got a bit of recognition for the area title win but the exposure you get in Prizefighter is second to none. After it, the world’s my oyster.”

Comments
  1. mick finn says:

    good luck kieran

Leave a Reply

