Pragmatic Mickey Coveney expects test of finesse over brawn against Martin Lindsay

Posted: April 27, 2012 in Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

MICKEY Coveney is under no illusions when he becomes the second opponent of stage two in Martin Lindsay’s career next month.

The super-featherweight, 30, will step into the lion’s den when facing Northern Irishman Lindsay at the Kings Hall in Belfast on May 5.

Twenty-nine-year-old home fighter Lindsay will return to the scene of his sole loss in 19 fights, dropping the British featherweight title to John Simpson in late 2010.

Highly-rated Lindsay, now working with Matchroom Sports following a break from Frank Maloney’s promotions team, is still highly rated and returned with a six-round points victory against Pole Maurycy Gojko at London’s Troxy in March.

Now, the road back to the title will continue with a battle against West Ham’s Coveney (13-14) who is pragmatic enough to accept his night will be far from easy.

“Lindsay is a former British champion, and he has beaten whoever has been put in front of him with the exception of John Murray. I know he’s going to be decent and I don’t expect any favours,” said Coveney, with the pair’s fight on the undercard of Paul McCloskey’s bout with DeMarcus Corley, plus a middleweight Prizefighter competition.

“I’m his second fight back and maybe his management team wanted someone easier,” said Coveney.

“But I know that he’ll be taking this fight seriously. I went over to (Lindsay trainer) John Rooney’s gym in south London a couple of months ago and I’m told that Martin did everything for John to make this fight happen.

“He might come out like a lunatic and be shit hot, but it’s more likely that he’s going to box me. I don’t think he will go flat-out from the opening bell.

“I’m going to keep my hands up, my chin down and move my head. I’m under no illusions that I am going to bash him up. I’m going for a fight.

“But I’m not getting ideas above my station. This is my 28th fight, I know what I am doing. My idea is to win a few early rounds and go from there. I’m really looking forward to it.”

Following the Belfast clash, Coveney, managed by Newark-based Carl Greaves, is set for a bout against Hull’s Tommy “Boom Boom” Coyle (11-0).

“I don’t really follow boxing that much so I don’t really know a great deal about him,” admitted Coveney.

“I’ll try to stay cut-free against Lindsay and then go for the Coyle fight. I’ve heard he’s a game boy.”

Leave a comment